Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is redundant and should not betaught. Others belive that it should remain a foundation subject whether or not it is used later in life

Teaching mathematics has become a debatable subject among parents these days. While some parents argue that mathematics is not necessary, and should be removed from the curriculum, others maintain that it should be compulsory even if it is not required in the future. This essay will discuss both views in depth. I strongly believe learning mathematics is vital because it improves students’ intellect and aids in identification of their potential. A growing number of parents are of the view that learning mathematics in various academic institutions should not be encouraged since it does not benefit the child in any way. This is because the skill gained from this subject is now done seamlessly by electronic gadgets, such as simple calculators, mobile phones and computers. Operations done using these devices are faster and more reliable when compared to ones done by humans. Again, having a good knowledge in mathematics is not a prerequisite for most jobs when children complete their studies. For instance, if a student eventually becomes a social worker, there will be no instance where he will be required to put his knowledge in algebra to use. On the other hand, other parents argue that all children should be taught mathematics, regardless of its use when they become adults. They hold this view because of the positive impact of the course on children’s intellect. Teaching pupils to solve problems in trigonometry, matrices and many others stimulates the young minds to think outside their comfort zone. This broadens their developing brains, making it easier to learn other subjects. Furthermore, young people with good potential in mathematics can be identified. They are guided by their tutors which enables them go into professions such as engineering, where they excel. In conclusion, the role of mathematics in education today continues to be arguable. Although some parents believe it is not essential and should be omitted from school programs, I think it increases students’ intelligence and helps us identify their strengths.