Some children spend hours on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, new technologies such as smartphones are used daily for several hours per day by kids. There are many factors that led to this situation to happen. One of them is that the children can communicate with each other outside of schools. Another reason is how many capabilities they offer. In my opinion, it is a positive development. The main reason why it is beneficial for kids is that they can keep in touch with their peers. Smartphones make it possible to write anytime to anyone you want. That way they dont lose contact with each other when they, for instance, get sick and are stuck at home. Developing good relations with classmates at a young age is essential for well-functioning in society in other stages of life. As statistics show, most thieves, small law-breakers or even murderers did not have fine relations with peers at young age. Also, most school shooters as it turns out are mentally stable, it is just the fact that they were disrespected or bullied in school by other students that makes them commit such serious crimes. So keeping in touch using smartphones and improving your relations with them can be very beneficial for not only you but also for society. Another, also positive aspect of smartphones being used in such a high quantity of hours, are the endless things it has to offer for kids. From countless mobile games and social media to apps that are used to educate and broaden horizons. Phones also have web browsers built in them so basically, they can be used for anything. Comparing that to traditional forms of entertainment or information, it is much more fun. In other words, these days smartphones can be used for everything and they can be really useful if used correctly. In conclusion, I think that this growing trend of phones getting used more and more by kids daily will bring positive outcomes.