As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is thought that the Internet these days has turned into mainstream in our society; besides, newspapers are considered outdated and antiquated. From my perspective, I strongly agree with this notion and my supporting reasons will be outlined in the following paragraphs before reaching a conclusion. All the outset, there are several merits of using the Internet instead of newspapers and one of the most significant is it easy to search. To elaborate further, individuals can find and surf their news at the click of a button, and thus they will get what they are looking for in a second. Moreover, news on online or social media is always updated because they do not need to wait to be printed out and distributed to communities like newspapers. An apt illustration of this is my father used to read newspapers every day a couple of years ago; however, after he bought his new phone that could access to the Internet, he changed his regular routine from reading those newspapers to surfing the Internet to find daily news instead. In addition, he told me that it was faster and updated all the time, no need to wait until tomorrow to read the new ones. Additionally, another clear upside of using this new technology is that the population can compare news with a number of sources. To explain in greater detail, there are plenty of sources such as publishing companies' websites, blogs, pages, etc. available on the Internet. Furthermore, people can ensure by cross checking that a piece of news they received at that time is fake or not. To specifically demonstrate, last week, I came across a piece of news on my Facebook about a new AI software for calculating the strength of reinforced concrete columns which in turn I swiftly looked into the Civil Engineer Council website for this topic. Consequently, there was no article about it and then I realised that it was all fake. All in all, it is undeniable that the Internet is now more popular and it almost replacing newspapers, which becomes a thing of the past. From my point of view, I agree with this idea as it provides us with accessibility to tons of sources as well as readers can compare the news to dependable sites in order to make sure that they are not fake.