some people think that increasing communication usuage of computers and mobile phones by young people has had a negative effect on their reading and writing skills. to what extent do you agree or disagree.

There are individuals who hold a view that the increase in communication on the internet and with mobile phones affects both the reading and writing literacy of the young generation. I agree with this argument that the advancement in digitalisation has brought fewer opportunities for writing to young people, while young people spend considerable time reading regardless of the format of media. The immense development in information technology has enabled us a variety of communication platforms on the internet and mobile phones, including SNS and blogs. Subsequently, the opportunity to write on paper has significantly decreased. For example, a calligraphy class, which was taught as one of the major educational programs in Japanese schools, has been replaced by a computer programming class which students need to enhance their typing skills. However, it can be considered as the transition of our necessities in terms of communication literacy, while the importance of traditional customs should be taught by elderly people. On the other hand, regarding the reading ability of the young generation, there are countless materials on the internet which young people need to understand rapidly, such as online news and online dictionaries. Moreover, reading behaviour will never change, like e-book devices are significantly popular worldwide, as many people comprehend that reading ability is fundamental to live in the future, while technology is developing day by day. In summary, there is an evident development in digital communication by computers and mobile phones nowadays. Consequently, young people obtain fewer opportunities for writing, compared to the previous generation. However, I wholeheartedly believe that we need to enhance our communication literacy to adapt to the advancement in digitalisation. Nevertheless, reading ability is significantly important for all generations to enrich their lives in the future.