A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks?

A significant number of countries depend on tourists to keep the steady flow of funds, supporting the local economy. However, if mismanaged, tourism may become a serious issue for a nation's welfare. In my opinion, tourism offers more benefits for a country than drawbacks it might have. Both pros and cons of tourism will be discussed in greater detail in this essay. Beginning with the positive sides, the biggest advantage of a tourism is its potential contribution towards the nation's economy. The country can take advantage of its cultural heritage, attracting holiday-makers to different sites that have historical value, and generating revenue from tourists. The prime example is Egypt, with the Pyramids of Giza being one of the most popular sites of interest worldwide. Also, it is widely known that tourism triggers infrastructural development since tourism requires transportation links, which include airports, railway stations, and roads as well as leisure and recreational facilities, starting from hotels and inns to high-end resorts. These facilities require workers, and the region benefits from additional boost to the economy caused by employment and taxation. Finally, properly executed tourism will positively affect the country's international image, making it more popular, and attracting even more tourists as a result. Turkey, United Arab Emirates, and Spain are some of the countries that were able to benefit from tourism. In contrast, there are instances when the governments have failed to properly manage tourism, spending lots of money and effort in order to build artificial points of interest that did not gain popularity. To illustrate, the Kazakhstani government hosted EXPO-2017, an international exhibition of technologies in its capital city, Astana. Having built vast infrastructure and spent copious amounts of resources, the local government fell short of its goal to boost tourism, greenlighting projects that used up a budget which could have been spent to improve other aspects of lifestyle. Additionally, human activities may cause pollution, which is especially harmful to nature reserves and parks. What is more, in case of unprecedented situations, such as a world pandemic, countries that rely heavily on tourism might see their economy suffer from a lack of tourist traffic resulting from travel restrictions.