More and more people are using computers and electric devices to access information, therefore there is no need for printed books, magazines, and newspapers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, we have officially entered the digital era and individuals’ tendency to use printed books or magazines is cutting down. Although more and more people are using the electronic version of newspapers, we have witnessed that books are printed in high volume. I agree with this sentence to some extent. Firstly, More and more people are getting daily news for free on the internet. It means that the internet has provided an opportunity for citizens to be aware of local news in the comfort of their houses, in fact, online news gave them a chance to increase their general information in a cost-effective way. Secondly, printed books or newspaper publishers have lost their revenue from advertising since social media became popular. Based on which, even newspapers with digital editions are struggling for survival. For example, most social media applications such as Instagram or WhatsApp are known as reliable sources of trustworthy news for people all around the world. So, apparently, if printed publishers did not reform from an obsolete method to an up-to-date one they will disappear in near future. On the one hand, many researchers suggest that even though it takes many times, traditional methods will be adapted to new technologies and create a new business model to compete with other new methods. Some of them make websites or accounts on social media to preserve correlation with their followers. On the other hand, in many places throughout the world, Sunday newspapers that focus on daily news are already highly popular, and free commuters’ newspapers are renowned in some places as well. Therefore, printed news enthusiasts do not lose their loyalty for reading in this way. To conclude, although many people enjoy reading printed books or newspapers it would be better if people use some environmentally-friendly methods to increase their knowledge and know more about what is happening in the world.