Some people claim that it is immoral to exploit animals, and that the government should prohibit using animals for scientific research. In the meantime, others argue that exploiting animals is crucial for allowing scientists to learn more about human biology and health.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Animals are used widely in medical research. This has long been the subject of heated debate. Opponents of animal testing say that it is cruel and inhumane to experiment on animals while proponents say that it has enabled researchers to inquire about knowledge about health and disease. Although I am against cruelty to animals, I think these experiments should be done to save human life until new methods are invented. On the one hand, animal defenders believe that in many laboratory settings that perform animal research, the animals do suffer, meaning that animal testing can by definition be cruel. According to Humane Society International, animals used in experiments are commonly subjected to force-feeding, food and water deprivation, and intentional wounds to study the healing process. Moreover, there are doubts about the effectiveness of this method, since humans and animals do not always react in the same way to drugs. For example, many drugs that passed animal tests fail in the market. Furthermore, more funding and effort should be put into developing alternatives to experiments using animals such as computer modelling or human volunteers. On the other hand, scientists claim that stopping animal use in labs completely will prevent us from knowing about the human body and the development of new and vital treatments. For example, the invention of many vaccines like Covid 19 was impossible without animal studies, also steps are taken to reduce the suffering and ill effects of experiments on samples. For example, researchers are required to follow a set of principles like refining the way the animals are cared for to minimise any stress or pain, by using less invasive techniques where possible and improving medical care and living conditions. In conclusion, I take the notion that, until we find reliable alternative methods of research that simulate humans' whole body system in the same way, research on animals should be continued with special considerations to minimise suffering and negative impacts on animals.