Advertising is influencing people more and more. Is this a positive or a negative trend? Give your opinion and examples.

There has been an increasing trend caused by advertisements influencing people's lives and I would argue that while this trend has many negative results, it can have some positive features as well. With regard to the advantages of widespread ads, human life has benefited from advertisements in various ways. It is undeniable that it has turned into a tremendous industry which has made millions of job opportunities for people around the world. Besides, advertisements are usually used for promoting public awareness as well, for instance, government transmit much information about environmental issues and energy consumption through ads to society which has had considerable effects on people's lifestyle. Many people have been aware of the disaster called resource depletion through ads and have improved their consumption habits in consuming water, electricity, gas and oil in everyday life. On the other hand, as a matter of fact, widespread ads can have many negative influences on societies. Firstly, they have exacerbated consumerism among people, take for example, most youngsters have been fashion victims that strictly follow the latest trends, spending a lot of money and time on shopping introduced merchandise. Secondly, there are few conservative rules on advertisements and they may have harmful effects on some age groups such as children. Advertising junk food containing fat and sugar may encourage children to pester their parents to buy and regrettably, would result in child obesity and poor health in kids. In conclusion, the growing trend of advertisements affecting our lives is a fact that has had both advantages and disadvantages for the society.