To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

As the world population is skyrocketing, there seems less food for people to share. As a result, ironically, some people are still dying from starvation even with great technological advances. Thus, it is argued that the intake of insect food should be encouraged and increased. However, there are also advantages and disadvantages to this issue. To begin with, this has noticeable advantages in that we can reduce the number of people suffering from famine. Insects are easy for us to grow. They take less energy and time, but they breed at an overwhelming speed. It is said that they are plausible to produce plenty of protein, replacing cows or pigs in which we put a great number of recourses. What it means is that it is the proverbial one stone two birds by reducing the energy and resources spent on farming animals and saving many lives with a new type of food, dealing with hunger. On the other hand, there are still some drawbacks accruing from using insects as food. First and foremost, it is untrustworthy yet to encourage people to eat since it has not been fully tried and tested. We do not have a safe and authorized method to manage the process. As opposed to just animals, the number of insects can be grossly inflated, even to the point we cannot calculate properly. Therefore, the skills to manage the number and keep them clean should be prioritized. Furthermore, to be frank, people easily feel disgusted by their appearance, because the concept of insect food is not familiar enough to the public. It will take time to be accepted by them. To conclude, despite the drawbacks, I believe this is an unavoidable trend in the future as global warming and many different kinds of environmental problems are getting more serious and turning the planet into a place where humanity can barely live. To deal with those issues, the insect is a quite reasonable and efficient way.