To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

As the world population is skyrocketing, it has been more difficult to cope with a lack of food, which causes people to suffer from starvation across the world. Thus, insects are introduced as an important method to solve severe famine at the moment, and also in the future. However, there are both pros and cons to this matter. To begin with, there are advantages accruing from harvesting insects as food. First and foremost, it certainly takes a smaller amount of spending and time than farming animals that have been normally consumed like cows, pigs and chickens. What we benefit from this is that if we could make good use of insects as a food supply, we will be able to deal with not only climate change that is believed to be led to emitting carbon dioxide from animals that we consume like cows, but also femine in that they contain plenty of protein. On the other hand, despite the benefits mentioned above, drawbacks should be considered. Firstly, since insects look somewhat different from what we usually eat, there would be a high chance of them being refused by the public. Furthermore, what is important is that we cannot precisely expect an increase in the number of insects. The number of edible insects could be grossly inflated for some reason that is yet to be discovered. This unexpected figure might ironically harm both humanity and nature. In conclusion, even though there are some disadvantages to this issue, I think that it is an unavoidable trend in the near future and also believe that increased intake of insects will help us to alleviate many problems we are now facing.