Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Currently, many people prefer to establish a business than to have a job for a company. In my opinion, there are some reasons why they decide to do that. However, it also has consequences regarding this issue. In this era, people are determined to have a business on their own, because of economic and job satisfaction considerations. Firstly, for economic reason, all of the gains produced by the company will be directly managed by the owner, whilst an employee just receives a very small portion of the company ’s profit. Secondly, for satisfaction at work reason, becoming an employee makes someone have to follow the employer’s rules even if it is not aligned with their will. In fact, some people can become the leader of their organization, so it will be managed by their own rules. It also raises the sense of belonging to the company and has more motivation to improve the business to make it more profitable in the future. To put some consideration of the previous argument, there are also some drawbacks if people choose to become entrepreneurs. The hardest part is when they want to improve their business, they will need a big sum of money. Meanwhile, every company is struggling to settle down the business, especially in the early stage. Not rarely, they need months to years to finally just book a slight margin profit. Furthermore, if the company takes a high loss, it will also affect the personal asset of the business owner. For instance, so many startups collapse in the first 3 years since they were founded. It happened because the investors decided not to fund the business that did not generate any income for some period of time. Moreover, not every person has the talent to become a businessman and a great manager, one needs many years of experience and knowledge to become successful in a certain area. To sum up, if some people choose to be self-employed than work for another company, they need to measure their capabilities in order to deal with any difficulties in the future. It takes many considerations to calculate based on cost and benefit factors to establish a business.