Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have the freedom to build houses of their own style. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the progress of a city, many old houses have been knocked down and replaced by new buildings for safety or other purposes in local areas. Some people believe that we should preserve the culture of a place and reconstruct the houses imitating old trends, while others consider people have the freedom to build a new home in their favourite style. I believe that people can choose to build houses of their own style, however, some conventional buildings should be well-conserved in the meanwhile. Historic buildings are part of a country’s heritage, which show the high cultural value and give an insight into the past. In addition, for educational purposes, the younger generation can learn about the history of this place, and tourists are often attracted by those characteristic buildings and the associated economic activities which can stimulate the growth of related industries. Therefore, new houses should be built following the local style in order to preserve cultural aesthetics and maintain correspondence. While traditional buildings have their own benefits, other people still believe that we should rebuild new constructions with preferable styles. Firstly, people can learn about the advantages and disadvantages of each type of building that is introduced to them and decide which one will be more suitable. Secondly, eco-friendly construction is a new trend in the modern world, it is believed that green building is the best way to save the mother planet. Finally, it is more expensive to preserve a historic building rather than renew it for new construction. I think people have the right to decide what type of buildings they prefer to build, this allows people to make wiser decisions on construction which can meet their needs. However, certain traditional houses should be preserved by the governments as they act significant roles in different cultures.