Many argue that young people who commit serious crimes, such as robbery or violent attacks should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are increasing debates about whether a young person who committed terrible crimes such as murder or abuse should be punished in the same level as an adult criminal. Some people believe that adolescents should be treated as same as adults if they have committed serious crimes while others think that we should be more focused on rehabilitation and help them reintegrate back into society. I strongly agree that governments should introduce specific laws to regulate juvenile delinquency and let them learn about the consequence of their behaviour. Firstly, research shows crime rates of young people are highly related to their background and their educational levels. If a person grew up in an unproper environment and was not taught and supported by their parents and teachers, he/she is more likely to conduct crimes. Therefore, it is not fair to execute the same punishment as adults against these young criminals. In the other hand, as a child living in a modern world, our lives are considerably affected by celebrities and social media. Numerous information that we can search through internet encourages adolescents to follow the trend and imitate others’ behaviour. Some young people then become unaware of their illegal behaviour since they only consider it as a funny thing to do. We can not blame them for this because they are just affected by the world which is established by adults. In conclusion, I believe that a young criminal should also be punished after committing serious crimes, however, it is more important for us to focus on the reason of these kinds of behaviour and give them a second chance by teaching them morals and ethics.