In many cities, there is little control on the design and construction of new houses. Some people think that people can choose to build houses in their own style as the old house style in local areas. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

There is the freedom to build new homes according to dwellers' favourite outlooks in a few urban areas. It is generally thought by folks that they can select their desired housing styles. Despite this scenario will distort the beauty of cities, I reckon that desirable structures of houses are more advantageous as they provide more comfort levels and the ability to make homes within budgets. Those who argue the disadvantages of making houses according to people's choices point to the loss of the integrity of a city. This is due to the fact that if every person will make their residences as per their choices, they will not control some factors such as heights, width and parking areas. Consequently, the beauty of the city will be completely damaged. Moreover, they also tend to worry about their status in society since those who are poor, will feel discriminated against as they can not compete with the structure of an affluent mansion. However, I understandably believe that there are some powerful benefits of building residences as per choices. The first and foremost is the comfort level which is given by the selected house design. If the living place is made according to people's preferences, for example, lightening, the direction of the building and gardens etcetera then they will enjoy more these facilities. Secondly, one can construct buildings within their available budget which is a relief for middle-class families. In conclusion, while I acknowledge that constructing living areas according to the preference of individuals have certain drawbacks in terms of diminishing the attractiveness of urban areas and discrimination between the rich and destitute masses, I would argue that because of pleasant and financial benefits, the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages.