Some people feel that playing computer games has a nagative impact on children's health and social skills. Others say that it can have a positive impact on their lives. Discuss both these views.

It is widely argued that spending time on computer games may impact a child's health and social skills negatively while some say otherwise. Computer games have a multitude of benefits improving logical reasoning and enhancing cognitive skills and overall brain-motor functioning. However, it can isolate children in their homes and also cause health issues such as decreased eyesight or degenerative bones and muscles. This essay will analyse the overall impacts of computer games on children. Firstly, a healthy amount of time enabling your child to play computer games can be significantly beneficial for their motor skills. The wide array of colour schemes and interactivity engages the child's brain for a longer duration. For instance, a study conducted by researchers at Harvard University on multiple groups of children under the age of 10, disclosed that the group which played video games had higher cognitive skills and were better at Mathematics comparatively. Hence, introducing your child to computer games allows them to learn better and faster while increasing motor skills depending on the games played. However, spending a significant amount of time on the computer can isolate the child from the real world and impact their overall health negatively. Hours spent on the screen with fewer breaks can cause dry eyes or reduced vision. In addition to that, it can reduce activity and thus stunt growth. For example, a recent trend study by Science Today magazine showed children with increased social anxiety and having disjointed relations with friends and family. Therefore, computer games have a wide array of challenges, which can have long-term effects on children and need to be handled. In conclusion, playing computer games while having various merits in a child's life can hinder their social skills and overall physical health. Having a balance, playing salubrious games and limiting the hours spent can be helpful while reaping its benefits and improving development.