Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does the plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem

The industrial revolution and the increase in the commodity market have introduced the usage of plastic bags, bottles and packaging in every aspect of our daily lives, which is harmful to the environment. Plastic usage has increased the carbon footprint of humans and has impacted aquatic life and our oceans. Governments and individuals can curb this problem by certain policies and opting for greener alternatives. This essay will look into the impacts of plastic and its possible solutions. To begin with, plastic usage in its multitude of forms like bags, bottles and packaging has become abundant. Consequently, it can have a detrimental impact on nature as most of the plastic is non-biodegradable, resulting in the clogging of drains and drainage into the seas and oceans. For instance, a recent study of the Great Barrier Reef in Australia has found multiple forms of plastic stuck to the corals and marine animals, and a significant reduction in the width of the reef which is essential for the water currents. Furthermore, the burning of plastic can introduce harmful pollutants into the air and deplete the ozone layer which causes global warming. Therefore, it is essential for Government and individuals to take proactive measures to reduce plastic waste. Banning non-recyclable plastic, and strict laws against its use can be done by the Government, along with funding companies focusing on green revolutionary products or reusing the plastic in any form. Individuals can make better choices by using non- plastic items and swapping daily items like toothbrushes, combs, and kitchenware made with plastic with ones made with bamboo or clay. For example, a startup called Bamboo has introduced bamboo toothbrushes in the market which are proving to be healthier and non-toxic for humans, while being a green alternative. In conclusion, plastic can cause havoc in the environment and its consumption should be limited if not restricted while more solutions should be explored to deal with existing plastic waste floating in the oceans.