Some people believe that car-free days are effective ways to reduce air pollution. However others argue that there are other ways that are more effective. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While it is true that air contamination is a major problem, some people have blamed cars for it and they have proposed to control their circulation. At the same time, others believe that others solutions should be considered when controlling air contamination. To start with, it is generally accepted that reducing the number of vehicles on the roads will decline the number of pollutants which are daily emitted into the atmosphere. This is due to the excessive amount of substances that have been produced in fuel combustion. All these toxic substances go directly into the air. Therefore, if the number of cars is under control, the air will be less contaminated. One clear example of this could be seen in Madrid, in which city the number of vehicles is controlled by the council to preserve the environment. Otherwise, others would argue that air contamination should be faced by controlling the increasing number of textile industries. What I mean by this is, there is currently an enormous quantity of factories which have been born to cover the market demand. It is well known that not only do these industries contaminate the water, but also the air. For example, we all know that Chinese textile factories' activity contributes significantly to damaging the environment and more specifically the air, as they emit tons of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. To sum up, I do support the theory that introducing car-free days will be useful when controlling the number of toxic pollutants that go directly into the air. Nevertheless, I am also aware that not only are cars responsible for this contamination, but also it is fair to blame the textile industries for it. To conclude, I do believe that all these mentioned measures should be taken into consideration if as a society we want to breathe clean and toxic-free air