Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In many countries, political leaders make most of their effort in pursuing economic development, since economy, in their eyes, is the most significant symbol of national power. Some citizens who are against such practice argue that advances in other fields also deserve attention from governments. In my opinion, economic strength alone is not enough to make a country great. Admittedly, economic growth lays a good foundation for the stability and the prosperity of a country. Our survival relies on a good economic situation. Once economic development stopped or reversed, like during a financial crisis, people would lose their jobs and have little money for food, clothing and housing, as enterprises would narrow their businesses or even go bankrupt. When people found it hard to earn a living, they would commit crimes or protest to the government, resulting in social and political instability. For another, governments need sufficient fund to invest in other fields, like medical care, education and technology. Without steady economic progress, there would be nothing constructive that a government can do. However, economic boom does not necessarily leads to the prosperity of a country or the well-being of its citizens. The money itself doesn’t make sense. What matters is where the money goes. In some countries, where wealth is confined to upper class or interest groups, the economic progress only benefits a tiny proportion of people and thus widens the gap between the rich and the poor. In some others, governments ultimately spend almost all the money for military purposes, such as training soldiers, developing weapons including nuclear ones, and even launching wars. For these countries, economic growth is rather a curse than a bless Change the form of the verb blessing show examples. From my perspective, advances in other aspects like culture and politics are also worth the effort of the governments. Besides material satisfaction, people also urge a better spiritual life, which requires the government to offer more cultural projects. For instance, more libraries, museums and scenic spots should be built to enrich the life and improve the overall quality of the citizens. In addition, to give people more rights and freedom by expanding the scope of democracy can enhance people ’s enthusiasm in political participation and thus make people more patriotic. In conclusion, Progress in other domains are as important as that in economy for a country. In other words, governments are supposed to pursue an overall and balanced development.