Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development ?

In the current era, a significant number of people are shifting towards alternative medicines when dealing with health problems instead of taking the advice and opinion of an actual doctor. This essay will further elaborate on why, in my point of view, I claim that this phenomenon has a negative impact on sick people and should be banned. To begin with, alternative treatments gained in popularity due to their "Placebo effect". In other words, when people strongly believe that a certain treatment could cure their illness, it is likely that they see a positive change, however, this is just a theory and not scientifically proven. Moreover, many alternative medicines available are not supported by scientific evidence. To illustrate, it is common in my native country, Morocco, to believe in the efficiency of natural medicine rather than taking chemical medication prescribed by doctors, while these latest struggle to fight against this phenomenon. Thus, the population should make a difference between what is scientifically proven and what is not. Furthermore, these types of medications could be risky and dangerous, especially natural and herbal medications. Some herbs, available and sold under the name of "treatments", could make some diseases worse which, consequently, leads to serious health problems. For example, cancer is an illness that only reacts to chemical medication and radiotherapy, but patients keep searching for alternatives unconsciously impacting negatively their overall health. To summarize, I personally claim that the population should stay away from unprescribed medications and rather opt for what is scientific by visiting their usual doctors because these types of treatments could lead to physical damage and hurt if taken without being prudent.