Goverments investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Goverments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

It is considered government should not invest money in arts, such as music and theatre, but instead spend money to encourage and develop public services. I completely disagree with this thought and the same has been discussed in the rest of this passage. Activities like painting, music and theatre define the rich heritage, India carries at an international level. The government's main aim in any country should be to increase the economy, encourage diversity and protect our culture. While providing public service to the citizens is the fundamental goal, it is not intended to neglect the work of the fine arts. Over 25% of the country's GDP stems from the entertainment and fine arts industry alone. Ergo, if these are not given the right priority we are on the verge of losing our history and cultural values. Gone are the days, when parents want to produce only engineers and doctors for the nation. In the 21st century, the youth chose to become artists instead. For instance, the movie industry provides ample opportunities to pursue a career in acting or filmmaking. On the other hand, providing public services is a necessity rather than a choice. Governments across the world should be run by the people and for the people. A citizen's basic right as a taxpayer is to gain access to health, infrastructure and security. Providing these services should contain a lion's share of any country's budget. For example, free healthcare and education for the downtrodden, and subsidised food for the underprivileged, are mandatory things to be made available. In conclusion, I believe a nation should invest heavily in the Fine arts and entertainment industry to encourage new talent and place the country's map on the world stage. At the same time, these planned investments should not discount the public services a citizen can themselfavail.