Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult,such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Currently, a significant number of people travel to far places for a vacation or an adventure. A lot of them go sightseeing in regions with extremely harsh weather conditions such as the Sahara desert. These travels have both positive and negative impacts on the individual and society. This essay will consider the fact that, tourism brings about cultural diversity, and help in economic growth, however, difficult conditions can be detrimental to one's health. Firstly, tourists are able to learn from the people they visit in terms of their culture. Numerous tourists choose to travel to these harsh climate countries because they want to learn and have an experience outside their comfort zones. In doing this, they are able to appreciate nature. For example, someone in a Western country, where the sun hardly shines, will appreciate the sun more when he tours Africa. Secondly, in as much as the change of environment might have a negative effect on the person, tourists add up to the economic advancement. Foreigners buy from local craftsmen and patronise locally-made goods. Also, some people visit other less-privileged nations to do business with them. This can totally contribute to economic prosperity. Conversely, journeying to a state with a dramatic weather conditions can be detrimental to one's health. For instance, a person from a country with extremely hot sunshine is likely to get frostbite because he is not used to cold weather. One might not be fascinated and excited to cover up the itinerary because of harsh conditions. In conclusion, touring other countries can be exciting because you get to have different experiences, but it should be to places where one would be comfortable and enjoy the scenery.