Nowadays many people chose to be self-employed rather than work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Many people are becoming entrepreneurs than working as employees in recent times. This is because of the freedom to implement one's ideas. While the drawbacks related to self-employment are the requirement of huge initial investments and also require a lot of dedication and hard work. Recently, there are lots of people who prefer to start their own business than work in a job. One of the key advantages in such cases is the liberty to use one's ideas. In many companies especially MNCs workers are not provided with such an environment where they can share their creativity freely therefore getting implemented is out of the box. This action further pushes them to start their company which works as an advantage for them. For example, a survey conducted by the Government of India on start-ups revealed that most of the owners left their 9-5 jobs and created their own empires due to the lack of appreciation and liberty to implement their ideas. However, there are various demerits also associated with it such as huge capital investment. In the initial stages, there is no return on investment despite which, the organizations have to pay salaries to their employees. Besides these, a lot of hard work and passion are necessary and one has to burn the midnight oil during client deadlines which also involves no days off during the festive seasons or the weekends as compared to the 9-5 job. For example, In India, Small and Medium size business owners work during the weekends and even on festivals sometimes for client deliveries due to the stiff competition among them. In conclusion, starting one's business gives the feeling of belongingness and liberty to implement one's knowledge, but, it also comes with a baggage of fear of failure, huge capital investment and a lot of work till late hours until the customer's expectations are met.