In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is considered very important. Why might this be the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

This paper will discuss the premise of the importance for some people to live in their own house instead of renting one. In my opinion, the idea of possessing an apartment can generate more benefits because it makes you have freedom in some way. This aim might be because having your own property makes you hold monetary value. Even if money is going to be spent, people will pay to have their final house. However, renting is just paying for a place which is never going to be yours. Secondly, a building lets individuals personalize it as they want like decoration, structural modifications or changing furniture. For example, when I was living in Madrid in a rented apartment, any change on it was not allowed and I had to keep everything as it was before. Finally, a really big issue is pets and 90% of the flats on rent do not permit animals, this is a really big problem because nowadays a lot of individuals have one. From my point of view, there are more pros than cons to this topic. Owning a house makes you feel like that place is home because you do not have to be worried about landlords and monthly payments to them. Another reason is that if someone needs monetary help, they can always rent a room to pay the required fees or need help. For instance, there are old people that cannot live on their own and they change a free place to live for help. Besides, there are a lot of opportunities for owning a flat because if you are planning to move, you can always make it an Airbnb and continue to gain money without the necessity of selling it. In conclusion, there are a lot of benefits for those who own a flat because you can change it and make decisions as you want.