Water pollution has been an increasing problem over the last few decades. What causes water pollution? How can we prevent this problem?

Water is one of the most important elements on earth when it comes to sustaining life. Unfortunately, human and other living creatures’ life is in danger because of water pollution in recent years. This essay shall discuss the causes and solutions of this environmental issue. Firstly, Industries and industrial sites across the world are major contributors to water pollution. Many industrial sites produce environmentally unfriendly substances in their production procedures. Improper disposal of these materials can easily pollute the freshwater system. For example wastes from mines and industrial plants easily find their way into rivers and streams and then to the seas. Secondly, agricultural activities put the safety of water supplies in danger. For instance, the pesticides that farmers use to keep their products away from bacteria and insects penetrate into the soil and reach underground water. Accordingly, when it rains, these chemicals mix with raindrops and flow to the ocean with the streams. Moreover, large oil spills and oil leaks, while often accidental, are major causes of water pollution. Leaks and spills often are caused by oil drilling operations in the ocean or ships that transport oil. Oil leakage can severely contaminate the sea and beaches which can cause serious harm to wildlife. For,example these spills can suffocate fish and get caught in the feathers of birds. As this environmental catastrophe has negative impacts on people’s health and wildlife, decisive actions should be taken to solve the issue.To start with, related authorities should pass laws to standardise procedures of waste management in factories and other segments of the industry. Governments can set penalties for organisations that do not meet the requirements of obligations. Also, farmers should be encouraged to produce organic products and cut down on using hazardous chemicals. For example, Germany succeeded in growing 70 per cent of its fruit and vegetables without using pesticides and fertilizers. Finally, preventive actions should be taken to reduce the leakage of oil into the ocean, such as training the people working in the industry to use safe barrel handling procedures and use equipment and tanks that are double-walled. To conclude, One of the most important resources on our earth is water. Unfortunately, major crises are facing the world today due to the contamination of this vital element. We need to take several measures in order to save this precious resource to save life on our planet.