The mass media ,including television ,radio and newspaper have great influence in shaping people's idea. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is thought by many that the mass media, including television, radio and newspaper have immense influence over the ideas of people. There is an undeniable element of truth to that statement however I believe that people's ideas are also shaped by a great host of things such as their environment and their cultural and religious backgrounds. The influence of mass media has well been recognised for years as a source of impacting the opinions of the general public. Companies and advertising agencies compete for slots on television, radio, newspapers and in the modern day, spaces on social media platforms.They use a host of marketing and advertising techniques in order to sell their products to the masses by showcasing these products through these avenues. It has been recognised that products used by celebrities and social media influencers sell out almost immediately and this has given rise to the careers of social media influencers. Mass media is also used to convey political and ideological messages to the public in the modern day as well as in previous times. Propaganda and messaging are spread through media to sway public opinion. however, people are also greatly influenced by their own beliefs and backgrounds including cultural and religious beliefs that they have held on to for years. Religions have been spread across the world without the help of media but through other avenues such as oral tradition. Cultural practices have been passed down from generation to generation without the help of mass media and folklore dances and traditional clothing and other cultural regalia have survived the test of time. In conclusion, mass media has an undeniable impact on people's views however humans are very complex beings who are influenced by a host of things not limited to the media.