Government should put taxes on unhealthy food so that people eat healthy food. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the government should tax unhealthy foods so that the public eat healthier foods. Although some people believe that raising the cost of unhealthy food may deter consumers from buying these foods and encourage them to eat healthier others say that those who do not wish to make lifestyle changes will not be deterred by the cost. In countries where sugar tax has been introduced some companies opted to pay the tax themselves allowing the public to purchase the products at the original costs therefore undeterred by tax increases. Other individuals are willing to pay the required costs in order to eat or drink their preferred foods. Organic and healthy foods are in general more expensive than their unhealthy counterparts and this has forced people who are not able to afford the healthier options to purchase cheaper, unhealthier, processed and sugary foods. The availability of cheaper organic and healthy options would do more in increasing the likelihood of people eating healthier foods than taxing unhealthy foods. Parents and guardians who would like to give their children healthier food options but are unable to afford the costly healthy and organic foods would be more inclined to buy healthier meals if they were as widely available and less costly. In conclusion, I believe that greater education about health and nutrition would be the best way to encourage healthy eating followed by the availability of affordable healthy food in contrast to taxing unhealthy foods which I do not think will greatly impact attitudes toward healthy eating.