Nowadays many people have to work longer hours and they feel more stressed out than before. What are the reasons? What can employers do to make their life easier?

It is undeniable that in recent times, extended work hours have created stress among employees. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this and point out some of the solutions that can be taken by the employer to reduce it. To begin with, various organizations strive hard to maintain their brand value in the market place. To achieve the goals, they make unrealistic targets for the staff, and it is a burden for them. As a result, the employees are pressurized to meet the target and they are forced to work overtime. Due to this fact, most of the workers have to work on weekends and do double shifts to complete the task before deadline. Moreover, there is a competition among employees to impress their managers to get promotions and salary hike. For instance, according to a survey conducted by Time magazine 90% of the people working in software field are doing overtime for different reasons. Thus, competition in the market and among the staff leads to a stressful working environment. However, employers can take a few steps to reduce the stress levels of their employees / workers. Firstly, they should conduct wellness programs and sessions to understand the importance of work life balance. Moreover, organizations should distribute the tasks evenly among the staff it will develop a harmonious working environment and boost the confidence of employees. For example, a recent survey shows that firms which run on the basis of equal division of work have attained their aims without stressing employees. Therefore, the head of the organization can play a vital role in relieving their employees of stress. To conclude, prolonged work hours in firms are a great concern nowadays; however, it can be resolved by the employer by implementing special sessions and proper distribution of work among the staff.