Some people believe that modern technology encourages more social behavior. Others say that this leads to lesser sociable behavior. Discuss both views with examples and provide your opinion.

These days, more and more people are utilizing modern technology in various ways. A number of people think that modern technology motivates people to interact with others. On the other hand, there are also some who believe that it can lead to social  isolation. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my own conclusion. For starters, there are many people who hold the view that modern technology pushes people to behave socially. For example, social media apps such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter report an increase in followers. As such, we see a boom in a lot of influencers who are able to grow their followers. Moreover, many people also get to increase their network and do business. On the other hand, some individuals argue that too much addiction to technology can lead to lesser social behaviour. For instance, a Harvard study in 2020 indicated that a whopping 40% of users reported being isolated from people. In addition, families have grown apart because of the excessive use of technology, especially those with teenagers. These teens would rather spend time on their phones rather than have conversations with their parents or siblings.  In my opinion, modern technology can bring a lot of people closer. For example, we have technologies such as Zoom that allow people to get in touch with their loved ones abroad. During the pandemic, people were forced to stay in their homes. Thanks to different digital tools, people were able to find ways to keep in touch by holding Zoom parties, playing online social games and even having video conferences. To sum up, although there are situations where technology can make people isolated, it is clear that modern technology will stay with us for a long time. Parents can have a massive influence to make sure that their children will be able to utilize these digital tools so that their relationships will not suffer. Personally, technology is a double-edged sword, but if done correctly, it can greatly improve ties within families, schools or the workplace.