Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Few people believe that college students should be allowed to study according to their interests. Whereas others argue that they should be only permitted to opt for the courses which are in demand in next the coming years. Personally, I believe that students should be given the option to choose subjects and no restrictions should be imposed. On the one hand, universities offer vivid courses be it in science, technology or history. When students are given the opportunity to study as per their interests, they put their heart into it and learn with enthusiasm. In addition, there are high chances to make wonders in their respective fields. For example, the famous movie artist Amitabh Bachan who was always keen on learning theatre arts later emerged as a superstar of India and received many awards for his exceptional acting in movies. On the other hand, students can attain settlement in a short span and adds to economic growth if they enrol on certain subjects which are in demand. Firstly, there are high chances of employment, the moment they complete the degree. For example, students with engineering degrees get campus placements and get recruited even before they complete their degrees. Furthermore, it will also benefit countries' economic growth as more people will be employed and raise the standard of living. This way individuals can settle in life early and can contribute to countries growth. In conclusion, Although students can have better job opportunities and settle early they should be given the freedom to study the subjects according to their interests.