Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

With the advent of technological advancements, the education sector has been changing drastically in the last few decades. Nowadays, some individuals believe that academic ability must be the only factor when giving admission to students. Whereas, others, including me, are on par with the fact that it is salutary for schools to have students with different skill sets. In this essay, we are going to look at both sides of a coin. On one hand, there are many who side with the concept that schools should select students solely based on their academic knowledge. To begin with, it is a famous fact that students with good academics will create a positive environment in the class, which can be helpful to others as well. If in a class all the students with equal academic qualities, then definitely, the classroom’s environment will be competitive. A sense of competitiveness will inculcate in them. As a result, they will work harder to prove themselves and try to be distinct from others. This will lead to a profound foundation of academics. To give an illustration, in India there are some Elite universities like IITs and NITs that choose students based on their academic achievements. Not only their academic results are better than other universities but also their placement rate is 100%. Hence, selecting students based on their academics is beneficial for students as well as schools and universities. Paradoxically, on the other hand, a veritable cornucopia of people, including me, is on par with the fact that it would be advantageous to include children with different abilities. This could be explained by the fact that students ’ different skill sets will create a diversified environment inside a class, they can teach each other their unique skills. Consequently, social skills will develop inside them. Additionally, student versatility will increase, which can be beneficial for them in academics as well as other aspects like sports. For instance, research conducted by a YALE university on the different types of schools found some flabbergasting results schools, which included students with different skills, ranked better in terms of sports as well as academics. Thus, it is paramount for not only schools but also for students to study in diverse cultures. In a nutshell, some detractors might argue that the selection criteria of students in school are based completely based on academic abilities. However, on the far end, I'm on the side that a diversified environment is more salutary for students, in order to stay ahead of the curve as compared to others.