For some people, shopping is not just about buying what is necessary, but is a form of entertainment. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this ultra-modern epoch, it is considered that purchasing commodities have become a source of entertainment for the masses instead of buying what they actually need. I believe this trend is a destructive development as it allure people to waste money and increase their desire for unrealistic items. To commence with, growth in income has surged the desire for luxurious items among consumers. In other words, even though people follow the latest fashion for a better lifestyle, but they end up being materialistic and acquiring commodities which might not be useful to them in future. Moreover, the masses subconsciously increase their purchasing power without considering their income and flow their savings. To cite an epitome, a headline published by ‘ TheTimes of India in 2010, revealed that shoppers spend 45% of their savings on buying useless items. Therefore, it can be argued without any scepticism that buying goods for personal pleasure can lead to financial loss. Furthermore, the conception of acquiring goods is prompted when an individual wants to spend their leisure time. To elaborate, a chunk of society believes that shopping is a relaxing therapy, a recreational exercise that satisfies human needs. However, this feeling transformed the individual into a materialistic man because they always feel that only shopping can make them feel relaxed. For example, a report by BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation) in 2012, found that 55% of the population went shopping because they feel bored or free. Hence, it can be truly said that consuming merchandise to spend leisure time can have a detrimental effect on a person’s personality. In conclusion, although consuming goods as a part of basic necessity are valuable, but when this purchasing habit becomes a part of personal pleasure then it is a disappointing change because it has shortcomings such as wastage of income and a feeling of greediness also occur.