Many people are afraid to leave their home because of crime. Some believe that more actions should be taken to prevent crime. While others feel that little action can be done to stop crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The crime rate has increased all over the world. As a result, some citizens lived in fear and they are scared to leave their houses. Some people believe that there are numerous means to be implemented to prevent crime, while others argue that little of them is effective. From my perspective, there are a plethora of measures that could be taken to alleviate criminal issues. To embark on, governments play an essential role in fighting against wrongdoing. Firstly, stricter laws and punishments should be introduced. For example, enhance fines for people who commit illegal acts, and apply chemical castration penalties for felons who commit sex crimes. Secondly, schools could add some classes and lectures to educate children on what is wrong. Some criminals were caught in burglary because lacking a job, therefore it can be an effective way to deal with these kinds of crimes by providing employment services. On the other hand, I can understand the arguments that minor actions can be done to decrease the crime rate. The main reason for this view is that many prisoners re-offend after they are released. Though they are aware of the punishments following their bad behaviours, a criminal record makes finding a job more difficult for them, consequently, they could only rob people or steal things to eat and live. Moreover, even though there are strict laws aimed at halting illegal activities, smugglers and drug dealers still exist all over the world. In conclusion, while there are some reasons to believe that little action can be done to deter crime, my own view is that there are many ways to fight against wrongdoing.