Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the Worlds are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The figure for cars has risen substantially over the globe in the last three decades. Therefore, it has mainly led to traffic congestion in numerous urban areas. I am fully convinced that an excessive crowd is a result of vehicles rising in the city particularly. However, it needs to be immediately resolved by laws to avoid adverse consequences. People are massively commuting by their possessed cars in recent days for several reasons. To commence with, the motor vehicle allows individuals more freedom to travel as they can select routes themselves. In other words, it represents a faster, cheaper, flexible, and more convenient way to go to remote places. This is why motors can easily surpass buses, trains, and lorries. Secondly, vehicles contain multiple appealing features. For instance, cars have built-in air conditioning, cushioned seats, and other fascinating luxuries which in turn commuters feel more comfortable. Additionally, private transport is quicker since there is no need for many stops to pick up passengers. Consequently, urban streets become extremely congested. Even though, it can be minimized by implementing suggestive measures. It is bound that the government takes the first place in solving this problematic situation. Firstly, as a step for reducing the usage of private vehicles, the administration ought to reinforce the citizens to use bicycles and public transportation. In addition, imposing taxes and petrol prices on cars. Furthermore, collaborating with the car companies in importing smart or eco-environment friendly cars rather than conventional ones. Hence, such effective ways are helpful to diminish the figure of accidents and pollution as well. To summarize, despite the causes of cars surging globally, authorities should find alternative methods in order to alleviate the traffic jam, such as using public transport, increasing oil prices and creating streets adequately. If it had been addressed, it would have enhanced the quality of life in a society.