Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Thanks to the rapid development of the internet and electronic inventions, the way we communicate has changed significantly. Some people think it could damage our relationships because of the decrease in time spent with each other. Personally, I disagree with this statement because I believe modern communications benefit people ’s social lives. It is true that modern technology has reduced the time people spend meeting. However, it can be seen as a positive aspect as it makes communication become easier than ever. For instance, one can start a conversation with their friend only by a click on their phone. In this way, it reduces the time of travelling as well as avoids the possibly unpleasant surroundings at the meeting place. Moreover, modern communication tools help us to stay connected with our distant relationships. Therefore, geographical distances are no longer the problems to maintain relationships. At the same time, I do not believe that modern communications should be responsible for the poor quality of our social lives. In fact, even in a face-to-face meeting, people still can have a bad time with each other due to a lack of conversation. Nowadays, it is common to catch in a café where people gather but instead of spending time together, they tend to focus more on the screens of their mobile phones. Hence, modern means of communication shouldn’t be blamed for unhealthy relationships. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the statement in the question due to the fact that modern communications bring many advantages to improve a relationship and, therefore, is not a reason for anyone’s unhealthy social life.