Risks taking are important in ones life. Do you think the benefits outweight the drawbacks?

Risk-taking is an essential part of our lives, both professionally and personally. Although taking such initiative can help one realize his potential, it can lead to significant losses in life. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of taking risks and why I strongly believe the advantages are superior. The main advantage of being adventurous is that it helps us identify our strengths. If we take on new tasks with unfamiliar outcomes, it pushes us to think of ways of becoming successful. As a result, we may do things that we had no idea we were capable of. For instance, Dr. Jackson, one of the biggest manufacturers in Ghana, gained his status by assuming the managerial role when his superior died. Although he did not have the knowledge and skills required for the position, he voluntarily accepted, equipping him with the skillset to open his own business. These reasons make taking on an unknown challenge extremely useful. On the other hand, engaging in an unpredictable activity can lead to major losses in life. Embarking on such paths requires sacrificing some qualities and resources such as self-esteem, confidence, and even money. If you challenge yourself to undertake a new activity, and you are unable to meet the required demands, it will eventually lead to the loss of these qualities. There are numerous instances where people have lost their confidence because they failed some tasks assigned to them at work. In conclusion, in our jobs and personal lives, it is vital to confront uncertainties. Despite the drawback of losing money and some traits, in my opinion, the benefit of harnessing one’s strengths is far more important.