Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In the present day, the number of diverse options consumers can make is astonishing. While some people prefer to work for a company in the past, it seems that modern society chooses to become independent bosses of their own. The main causes of this phenomenon and its negative impacts of this will be explained in this essay. The merits of being a business owner are apparent for numerous reasons. As life has become much more competitive than in the past, being selected by prestigious companies is a great challenge these days. Although some people might be skilled, big companies tend to recruit candidates with the highest qualification. In other words, others who do not have one have a very lower opportunity to have a satisfying occupation, which leads to deciding to set up a new company for themselves. Moreover, unlikely office workers receive a monthly salary, it is true that self-starters have a great potential to earn the same or high amount in less than a month. Furthermore, to encourage small businesses to support the local economy, the authority provides low-interest rates to start off the business and introduces independent schemes such as compensating businesses that have less income than a certain amount. On the other hand, there are considerable demerits regarding being self-employed, because of the uncertainty of income, which means that businesses are strongly affected by the environment, for example, with the sudden emergence of COVID, small trade had to suffer for almost 3 years, whereas company workers had a secured salary. Therefore, having your own employees can be risky under difficult circumstances, especially if you have to afford the whole family. In addition, from the perspective of the state, it is difficult to calculate the correct amount of taxable earnings for the independent, which takes advantage of the schemes. Thus, it is hard to fully support that being self-employed is more beneficial. In conclusion, the growing number of independent shops seems to be highly advantageous to consumers as well as business owners, because of the opportunity to receive high income when the business runs smoothly and is guaranteed by political schemes. Nevertheless, the rule has to back up them financially if the business does not flow well.