Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, Smartphones are a major part of our lives. Almost everyone, from adults to kids uses phones for many activities, but children are found to excessively use smartphones for a variety of purposes like studying, listening to music, surfing the internet, using social media etc and tend to spend hours on their gadgets. I believe that this is a negative development as it has many adverse impacts which will be discussed in this essay. The main reason why the use of smartphones is considered bad, is due to the negative effect it has on the mental as well as physical health of individuals. For instance, Many international studies have found that children who spend a lot of time on their phones suffer many health problems like obesity, eye-related issues etc not to mention mental health problems like anxiety, depression etc. Secondly, since the world is just a click away with the advent of technology, individuals get whatever they want easily and they don't have to search or work hard for it. This has a major impact on creativity. For example, if a student wants to do a research about a particular topic he or she just needs to search for the subject on google and there are numerous articles and journals available. This is in contrast with past times when students had to read and skim each and every book available to get a small piece of information. Although this is a laborious process, the knowledge gained from books is irreplaceable and boosts creativity. Also,the more time children spent on smartphones the more they lose their ability to interact socially. For instance, individuals are more comfortable texting someone rather than meeting with them personally. This adversely affects their ability to mingle with people and also negatively affects their personal as well as professional life. Individuals tend to back out and become nervous if such social situations arise. To conclude, Smartphones have become an unavoidable part of everyday life nowadays but, this has adversely affected children and individuals in many aspects of their life and also reduced their chances of succeeding in their careers as well as managing day-to-day matters.