i. #Environment - Nowdays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? (IELTS 5, GT)

Throughout the world, there has been a significant increase in the amount of waste being generated. I believe that the major reason that this phenomenon is being observed is the explosion in the population globally. Leaders in nations will need to enact policies that will lead to the reduction of the quantity of refuse we generate. There are more humans living on earth now than ever before in the history of mankind and waste is a natural outcome of human activities. Therefore, the more people there are in a geographical location, the more rubbish they will produce. Over the past ten years, for example, the populace in Nigeria has doubled to about two hundred million. In that same timeframe, the volume of waste has more than quadrupled to over one billion metric tons per annum. Consequently, it has become expedient to deal with the issue of the sharp rise in the quantity of litter we make around the globe. The ill effects on the quality of life, health and general environment are devastating. To counter this rise, leaders can introduce a strict recycling policy. An example of a successful implementation of the recycling strategy is in Pakistan where the volume of trash generated in the past five years was shrunk by a third despite a population spike of two per cent. To conclude, the steep increase in the generation of refuse all over the world is a result of the expanding population on earth today. The disadvantages include a decline in the well-being of people and the environment and leaders can reverse this by ensuring that there is a culture of re-purposing or reusing items rather than throwing them away.