In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use their money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Nowadays getting stuck in traffic congestion is an inevitable fact that can be seen all around the world. Charging drivers more and spending this budget on public transportation development ought to be considered by authorities. In this essay, I will discuss the pros which seem to outweigh the cons of this policy. The first advantage of fewer automobiles on the streets, due to heavy taxes, is that not only will fewer harmful gases be produced, but also air pollution will decrease dramatically. As a result, the public is not in serious danger of some related health issues such as heart problems, asthma or lung cancer. Secondly, by not having personal vehicles citizens are going to have an access to a more efficient system of transport which is supposed to have already been enhanced by the government. Therefore, car expenses including petrol and insurance would be reduced for families. On the other hand, it might not be affordable for all people to pay high taxes. Although not all the ones who have been driving on the roads consider driving as a career, a large number of them are drivers for whom it is not very easy to make ends meet. Consequently, they will lose their jobs. In addition, car manufacturers would face a big financial crisis to get their products sold and a big loss in their profits if people were not able to purchase their vehicles. To conclude, weighing up both sides of the argument, I would say that the disadvantages seem to be more than their advantages,particularly in the massive car production industry while the importance of more fresh air and fewer patients in societies should not be ignored. So there is no need to increase car taxes to find a solution for traffic jams.