Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children.

With the technological advancements in recent years, computers are becoming more and more integrated into today’s society. This increase in adoption means that people, and youngsters, in particular, are being exposed to computers more often. Some people praise this development, whilst others believe that daily use of a computer imposes a negative effect on young people. This essay will elaborate on the latter standpoint. First of all, using a computer on a daily basis puts a strain on the available time that a child has; time that cannot be spent on another activity. It is well known that the early years of one’s life are a crucial element in the development of social skills and it is of uttermost importance that these years are spent efficiently. As such, time spent behind a computer screen negatively affects a child’s development as this time cannot be used to develop important social skills through interacting with peers. Secondly, continuous use of a computer has a direct negative impact on one’s health, especially during the years of physical development. Research has repeatedly shown that each new generation has lesser eyesight than the one before. It is believed that this reduction is caused by looking at a computer screen, since the eyes have to adjust themselves into an unnatural shape. Avoiding such behaviour is particularly important during the forming years, as this is the time in which an eye will learn its ultimate shape. Therefore, usage of a computer during the younger years will negatively impact a child’s health and as such the full remainder of their life. Both the reduced time that can be spent on crucial elements of growing up and the health impact on the eyes, are reasons why daily use of a computer negatively impacts young children.