Detailed reporting of crime has bad effects. Consequently, such details should not be reported in the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Police Departments and media press sometimes choose to report crimes with detailed information. Even though this will bring side effects, I think such detailed news should not be banned completely. Admittedly, it is true that reporting crime cases with full-scale coverage will generate bad influences. To begin with, these reports might lead to more copycat cases. Step-by-step case analysis in news programs would not only teach criminals how to commit a crime but also help them avoid mistakes. As a result, the police will be busier with overwhelming cases and social panic will be caused. Moreover, too much detailed information will inevitably contain violence, blood, or even dead bodies, which might scare some audiences and exaggerate the influence of a normal case. For instance, terror attacks kill way fewer people compared to traffic accidences on the yearly basis, however, the panic it causes is far more feared by the general public. Similarly, inappropriate crime reports will generate the same effects among people. However, detailed crimes report news will also help the police and general public sometimes. One of the benefits of detailed crime reporting is efficiency improvement. With more information thrown to the general public, more feedback and clues will be received by the police department. This is especially true in those cases where the least relevant details become the key points to solving the puzzle. In addition, detailed information could warn the general public as well, which helps those who live near the crime scene avoid unnecessary damage and harm. In conclusion, crime reports with detailed information are necessary sometimes, provided that they are controlled and used with caution by the police and media.