Some people believe that having a conversation on a mobile phone in a public or crowded place should be banned. Others feel that we should be able to talk wherever we like. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this essay, I will consider different opinions regarding public phone usage. Some believe that mobile devices should only be used in private, while others think that there should be more freedom as to where they can use them. This paper explores both opinions by discussing the advantages and disadvantages before reaching a conclusion. To begin with, phones provide people with the opportunity to converse with one another at great distances. This has led to a growing reliance on the technology in order for people to speak with loved ones. For example, it is not uncommon for a person to receive a call during a train commute. However, this could disrupt other customers in the same carriage, causing grief and discomfort. There are, furthermore, instances where communications take place in museums or art galleries, which could likely disrupt one's experience. Nevertheless, many argue that talking in crowded spaces should be allowed and there are times where it is an absolute necessity. For instance, a parent may receive an emergency call from their child's school, informing them of an accident. Some professionals, such as doctors or police officers, also need to be available in the event their services are required. In fact, a recent study, conducted by the University of London, found that ninety-five percent of teenagers are in favour of using telephones in public for myriad reasons. Thus, while it is context specific, it seems the general consensus is that there should be free reign when it comes to conversing in public; this, in particular, applies to professions that require they are accessible, such as nurses and carers.