Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be disadvantages of being self-employed?

With the rapid development of information technology and increasing globalisation, a process many people have started working from their convenient location or even self-employment. It has been quite easy and beneficial for many people, whereas some people think that such a trend may have a detrimental impact on the enhancement of social and interpersonal relations. In this essay, I will examine the cause and effect of this tendency and will draw a conclusion in this regard. There is a substantial change in the means of communication these days. People of the world are interconnected and the world has turned into a small village due to the rapid development of globalisation and connectedness. The working trend also has changed considerably. For example, an Indian national has been working from India for Amazon USA for a long time. Furthermore, the rapid spread of the Covid-19 Pandemic causes the world into limited physical connectivity. However, virtual connectivity was further enhanced. Many employees started their work from home. The pandemic also contributed much to enhancing virtual connection. On the other hand, many people opine that working in a team physically is much better than working from home. Doing a job together in a group with many friends is really important in terms of friendship and connectivity. Close relations and intimacy could develop much while working together physically. Additionally, the practice of engaging many workers together in a company could also contribute to augmenting the economic activities of a certain place and a country. It helps to sound running of services such as transportation, restaurant and hotels and other ordinary businesses which would not be possible if many persons were restricted at home. To conclude, people ’s choice to work from home has some merits however it may constrain social and economic activities, interpersonal relations and connectedness. Therefore, working physically in a company would be better for the country and the person.