Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is widely known that in many developed countries, nowadays, longevity has increased largely, and this is something that we all should aim to achieve and be happy about. Furthermore, in my opinion, the age for retirement should not be increased for two main reasons which will be outlined in this essay. Firstly, the stressful lifestyle that all people are currently living, has led to the conclusion for many of them that the sooner they retire from their work, the better. As it is for most countries, you need to work for more than 30 years and even more, before you are eligible for a pension. At the end of their career, the main inspiration that all workers have is retirement, which seems closer day by day. Supposing the governments decide to raise the years required, how will those people be affected by this decision? In my view, this could cause a lot of mental problems, such as depression, owing to the fact of how desperate some humans are to terminate their active work-life with dignity and respect. Therefore, individuals themselves have to make the choice if they want to continue working after the already established limits. In addition, we should not focus on exploiting human resources till the last drop and we must pay attention to the young people ’s development, so I think, old people deserve to have more time after they become pensioners, so they finally get the chance to spend more time with their families and loved ones. Secondly, raising the age for the old workers, in my opinion, blocks the opportunities for the youngsters to improve and develop their full potential. For instance, in various professions, young people are stacked for years before they can grow up with their careers as there is no room left for them to improve. A typical example of the statement above is the healthcare sector, where young doctors are waiting for decades before some of the professors retire, so they can start their real practice. Although the experience of some well-trained employees is considered irreplaceable, it is of crucial importance that the juniors are given the chance to shine, so cherishing the rich expertise of the old ones is something that all different companies should include in their work policy. In conclusion, the age for retirement should not be elevated, so young working people are let to develop their abilities and achieve their success in a more straightforward way.