1. With access to the internet and social media websites, many children are exposed to a nu mber of dangerous situations. Adults should thus limit access to the internet for their children. Do you agree or disagree?

Interconnectivity of electronics otherwise known as the internet is a modern technology with widespread applications in information, communication and entertainment. The proliferation of cyber connectivity and the plethora of social media sites comes with undesired consequences for children, and parents need to find ways of controlling the access their children and ward have to this technology. I completely agree with this position as it will protect them from exposure to illicit material and prevent them from wasting their lives doing non-value-adding activities. Exposure to illicit materials is one of the most dangerous side effects of uncensored use of sites such as websites such as Facebook and Instagram. Because these platforms themselves have no restriction on the type of content they transmit, children are bound to stumble into content that is too advanced for their moral comprehension, even if they do not desire to. For,instance a child viewing a youtube page could be shown an advertisement which might contain nude pictures. Therefore, adults must first of all preview content before allowing their wards to enjoy the content. Another trouble arising from excessive of cyber-social platforms is addiction. This phenomenon also dubbed a psychological dysfunction, is described as a situation of being unable to detach from or control a habit. A child hooked on social media has the propensity to spend more than 10 hours in one sitting browsing the internet. This is equally bad as the valuable time that would have been used for studying gets wasted engaging in useless activities. To conclude, while allowing youngsters access to the internet makes them develop browsing skills which are needed to survive in an IT-driven world, uncensored use has the potential of providing them with the room to view illicit materials and waste their youthful days socializing instead of developing themselves academically. Thus, it is of grave importance that parents manage how much access their wards have to the internet.