To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

Should insect-based food become the new main source of food? Some people may believe that in this current situation, where the food supply does not match the food demand, the solution is to consume more insect-based food. On the contrary, some groups oppose this idea. In this essay, I will present my opinion and draw out the advantages and disadvantages of insect consumption. To begin with, the benefits of eating insects, although insects are perceived as gross by many people, they contain a lot of energy. This means that it is suitable for the increasing population, as people will consume less amount of food but still reach the daily calories consumption. Moreover, if the food in the world became more insect-based, the farming of dairy products would reduce. Diary products are one of the main sources of green-house gas emissions, which is the cause of climate change. By becoming more insect-based, climate change and scarcity of food issues will be mitigated. However, some people believe that consuming insects is not only unhealthy but can cause further environmental problems. This is due to the fact that some insects contain poisonous chemicals that can lead to sickness. For example, there are several reported cases of nausea after eating scorpions. If the food providers did not remove the venom or cook the insects properly, the consumers would experience the unpleasant side effects of the venom. In addition, the method of harvesting the insects may lead to environmental issues. This is because it is difficult to zone the area of farming, as they are small. If insects were released into a wild ecosystem, it would lead to the disruption of a natural ecosystem. This can cause a chain reaction to occur and ultimately lead to an extinction of a species. In conclusion, even though there are some benefits to making use of edible insects as a food source, the drawbacks are stronger. It is true that the population is increasing, but the production of food is sufficient to everyone. Therefore, the solution to this is to fix the food distribution system, not turning into an insect-based society, as insect consumption do more harm than good to both individuals and the environment.