In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Over the century, a majority of people had left their workplaces apart from their homes. However, today’s popularity of IT devices such as computers, the internet, and smartphones leads individuals to work from home. This wonderful advancement has benefited from the loss of commute costs and drawbacks from a situation in isolation. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this trend, providing real-life examples. To begin with, individuals can get many choices for their spare time and residential choices without commuting. Instead of spending 2 hours or even more inside the transportation, they can dedicate this time to learning something new, which can be very beneficial for their job or time for self-development which is also very important nowadays. In addition, people can lead more healthy life due to the fact that the environment is better in the countryside, besides it is cheaper to live in the country rather than in the city centre. Interestingly, during the Pandemic, many people were really stressed because they had to work from home, but then they got used to it and now the majority see many advantages in working from home. On the other hand, digital services can limit and they do limit authentic people communication among colleagues. In other words, Internet messengers and online meetings require only immediate responses regarding tasks, whereas face-to-face interactions built up trustful relationships at workplaces. Consequently, people feel lonely and deeply depressed. For instance, my uncle who runs his business from home feels lonely. For this reason, many prosperous companies provide their employees with mental healthcare services. Besides people at home don’t really care what they wear, many women use no make-up, no hairstyles so all these things make people more relaxed and less responsible. In a nutshell, since many companies instituted a work-from- home policy, many workers have chosen it as it has given them more free time and habitation choices, nevertheless, it should not be underestimated that individuals can often find themselves gloomy because of a lack of direct interaction with peers.