Too much money is spent on looking after and repairing old buildings. Some people think we should knock old buildings down and build new modern ones. To what extent do you or disagree?

Some people think the long-term cost of protection and fixing old buildings is so high that we should use new buildings to replace them. However, in my opinion, new buildings indeed provide more effective way to satisfy housing but old buildings reservation is also necessary for individual and society. Old buildings are critial to tradtional and national culture, from which everyone have develop a sense of self-identity and build up confidence that make them feel strong to face kinds of obstacles. Old buildings are carriers that undertake traditional culture and history. So people can understand the past and how it tortuously developed in the long history through them. Then people can understand who they are and will be part of the history in their nation. As they build up the connection to the past, they will develop a sense of belonging, which becomes significant part of their national identity. If everyone has same national identity and principle, we will achieve social cohension. However, it would not be reasonableto ask people to protect old buildings in a city or town where they can not find enough houses to live in. Reservation of cultural heritage is undoubtely significant, but satisfying citizens basic living standards such as housing, hospital, and school should is always top concern for all people. For example, in China, with old buildings in cities and towns being demolished, more and more skyscrapers were constructed to give a facility to accomdation for working, living, and shopping 30 years ago. Overall, the extent of protecting the old buildings should depend on the conditon of country or nation' housing situation. Conserving ancient buildings undoubtely is a great chioce to provide an opportunity to strengthen citizens a sense of national conviction as long as it can ensure the housing is sufficient.