Increasing numbers of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved? What are the drawbacks?

During the past 30,years there has been an increase in the number of international students. This trend has benefited students greatly because it means they can study the course they want without having to settle, and it allows them to experience a new country in the meantime. Furthermore, this benefits the countries involved by bringing in more money and boosting the economy. However, there are some drawbacks such as students being away from their parents and homes, a lower standard of education in some cases, and inflation in the countries students choose. Firstly, entry into British universities is difficult. This is especially true for courses such as medicine, dentistry, and pharmacy. For this reason, more students are choosing to study in Eastern Europe instead of settling for a course they dislike. Furthermore, it allows these pupils to experience a new culture, meet new people and become responsible adults living on their own. Secondly, the large number of students flocking to Eastern Europe means more money for the universities and the government. Therefore, it allows said bodies to spend this money on further developing the infrastructure for the students and residents. Lastly, local businesses are going to achieve a boost in sales, thus benefiting the locals even more. On the flip side, the increase in the number of people is likely to cause inflation. This is because there will be more competition for rent, for example, and this will cause prices to go up. This rise will affect the locals more than the international pupils. Thus, it may lead to residents having to relocate to cheaper areas. Also, education in Eastern Europe is likely to be tailored to the native system and thus may be of a lower standard for the students who plan to come back and practice in the UK. In addition, being far away means most of these individuals are going to have to sacrifice many birthdays, Christmases' and other celebrations. This can be very mentally challenging. To conclude, the new trend of studying abroad is providing many benefits for students, such as being able to achieve the degree they're aiming for, cheaper teaching, and a new experience. Furthermore, this is going to boost the economy of many countries Providing this schooling. However, there are drawbacks such as a lower standard of study, being away from family and inflation for the resident of the city.