The government should stop spending money on restoration of old buildings. Instead, it should build more houses and improve roads. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is commonly argued that the government's budget should be spent on basic infrastructures such as building more houses and enhancing the condition of roads rather than on restoring traditional architecture in the country. I will discuss both sides with examples in this essay. To begin with, it is a considerably persuadable statement that improving fundamental infrastructures are more urgent. First and foremost, from a practical point of view, houses and roads are more concerned directly with the crowd's life. For example, should there be abundant numbers of houses people can live in, they would not be as worried as they really are. Not only that, but governments should take care of the condition of roads, which easily get damaged by vehicles driving on them. What this means is that governments should spend more money on traffic facilities like roads so that they can reduce accident rates due to damaged roads. On the other hand, there are some reasons why we have to keep old buildings to ourselves. Firstly, traditional buildings can be used for many purposes. Not only do the buildings show the history of the region, but they can also make a major contribution to the local economy. For instance, considering the fact that many tourists visit another country to feel their exotic and iconic culture, it cannot be denied that traditional buildings play an important role in a country's tourism. Furthermore, those buildings are symbols that remind people about their ethnic identity. If we were not to take care of those precious treasures any longer, it would definitely be recorded as the hugest mistake we could have ever made. To conclude, even though it sounds appropriate to invest more money in infrastructures than traditional buildings, I somewhat disagree with the statement because I believe that traditional buildings surely are worth being kept for both us and our descendants.